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IMPORTANT CONSUMER ADVICE WHEN  
PURCHASING A MANUFACTURED HOME 

 
 
If you are buying a manufactured home to replace one lost in the Southern California 
fires, or an existing home in another park, there are many important details to consider 
to protect yourself and your family from delays or financial harm.  These guidelines 
provide advice regarding common concerns. 
 
Who Can You Buy a Manufactured Home From? 
 
In California, new manufactured homes generally are purchased only from licensed 
dealers, or salespersons working for a licensed dealer; the California Department of 
Housing and Community Development (HCD) licenses both dealers and salespersons. 
You may purchase a new home over the Internet from an unlicensed dealer, but see the 
warnings below.   
 
Used manufactured housing may be purchased through a licensed manufactured home 
dealer or salesperson, through a real estate broker or salesperson licensed by the 
California Department of Real Estate (DRE), or directly from a private owner/seller. In 
certain circumstances, a mobilehome park owner may sell directly, either because the 
owner is a licensed dealer or because the owner is selling a unit obtained from a former 
resident.  Always ask for proof of the authority of the seller and, if a private person, 
proof of ownership before signing documents or providing funds.  To verify HCD 
licensee information, call HCD’s Occupational Licensing Unit at (916) 323-9803 or use 
HCD’s website at http://www.hcd.ca.gov/codes/ol/ol_lic_query_cover.html.  To verify 
DRE licensee information, consumers may use HCD’s website to link to DRE’s website 
or contact DRE’s Occupational Licensing unit at (916) 227-0931. 
 
What About the Internet? 
 
It is not illegal for a buyer to purchase a manufactured home over the Internet.  
However, it is illegal for an unlicensed out-of-state person or company to solicit sales in 
California through advertising, telephone calls, or other in-state contacts.  There are 
several critical problems with Internet sales: 

• Selling companies are not licensed here, and do not have a legal obligation to 
provide documentation, disclosures, and other important information. 

• If there is a problem with the sale, you may have limited legal recourse against 
an out-of-state party except in the dealer’s state or federal court. 

• The purchase price may not include all mandatory costs, including installation, 
transportation, local fees, accessories, etc.  In addition, the true price may be 
concealed by the lack of disclosure that the homeowner will have to pay a 
California use tax on goods purchased outside the state; for example, a 
$150,000 manufactured home results in a state tax of about $7,000 or more. 

• Your warranty rights related to construction defects or failure to comply with the 
contract may be reduced with Internet sales.   

• Use of an out-of-state escrow company may not protect you or your funds:  these 
companies are not regulated or licensed to do business in California, are not 
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subject to California laws and requirements, and may not even have adequate 
funding, leaving you still liable to a manufacturer if the manufactured home is not 
fully paid even though you paid the full price to the out-of-state escrow company. 

 
Choosing a New Home:  Step One 
 
Even before you go to a dealer, you must contact the park management to find out what 
restrictions there may be on new homes in the park:  Are there size requirements?    
Are there amenity requirements related to patios, stairs, etc.?  What is the maximum 
electrical capacity for the space and park (normally referring to “amperage”)?  Are there 
any other park restrictions?  If you are purchasing the home to place on private 
property, you must be sure that local ordinances and infrastructure permit it. 
 
Choosing a New Home:  Step Two (Buying from a Licensed Dealer) 
 
When buying a new or used manufactured home from a licensed dealer, any deposit or 
down payment checks must be made payable to an escrow company and not the 
dealer.  A cash deposit does not provide a paper trail protection. 
 
The sales agreement must be in writing, signed and dated by both parties.  It should 
include a receipt for deposit or down payment (even if a check is used); and all home 
details such as color, flooring, upgrades, change orders, etc.  All options must be 
individually itemized and priced, or the sales agreement should state they are included 
in the home price. 
 
All manufactured homes sales through a licensed dealer must go through an escrow 
company, and consumers should ensure that the sales agreement and escrow 
instructions clearly state when partial payments and final payment are to be released.  
Escrow instructions are negotiable to the extent mandated by law.  
 
The sales agreement must state if the price includes set-up and/or delivery or delivery 
options. If the dealer is responsible for installation, the sales agreement must identify 
the installation contractor and the type of foundation system to be used.  The agreement 
also should state in writing:  who is responsible for obtaining and paying the cost of 
permits; specify removal of an old home or lot preparation, if applicable; who is liable for 
delays in delivery or occupancy and storage fees, if applicable; etc.   
 
The sales agreement must identify all warranties, both the state law warranty and any 
manufacturer or dealer warranties.  Be sure these are clear. 
 
The home usually must be installed by a licensed contractor: call the Contractors State 
License Board (CSLB) at (800) 962-1125 to verify that the installer is a licensed 
contractor.   
 
Choosing a New Home:  Step Three (Addressing Problems) 
 
If problems occur as a result of, or during the purchase, various agencies and remedies 
are available.  If there are problems with a licensed dealer, broker, salesperson, or 
contractor, call the appropriate agency listed above:  HCD, DRE, or CSLB. 
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An inspection is required from a state or local building department after installation and 
prior to occupancy.  Some manufactured homes require additional construction to the 
home on-site, which may require an inspection by a factory-approved inspector prior to 
the occupancy inspection. Be sure to be present when the inspection occurs, point out 
any problems you are aware of, and keep a copy of the report.  Defects must be 
corrected before final funds are released from escrow. 
 
If there are home defects, check the manufacturer, dealer, appliance, or state law 
warranties.  There may be a limited time to report problems (for example, one year and 
ten days for the state warranty, unless the buyer took possession of the new home and 
directly arranged installation).  Report all problems in a dated letter to the manufacturer 
and dealer and keep a copy.  Follow up.  If you are not satisfied with repairs, contact the 
HCD Ombudsman (see below) or Occupational Licensing Program (see above), and/or 
follow the complaint procedure in the manufacturer’s manual. 
 
Choosing a New Home:  Step Four (Buying an Existing Home) 
 
If you purchase an existing home to be moved to your park, or one staying in an existing 
park, you should be sure that the home is in good condition and free of defects.  You 
may hire your own inspection firm, or make inspection a condition of purchase.  State 
law also requires use of a specific written disclosure form about the home’s condition. 
 
If you purchase an existing home through an HCD licensee, all the requirements in 
“Step Two”, above, must be met.  You also can use a DRE real estate licensee for 
existing housing, or purchase directly from the seller.  There is no requirement for an 
escrow except for transactions through persons licensed by HCD; however, the escrow 
company protects your rights as well as those of the seller.   
 
If you purchase a used home to move to your park, see “Step One”, above; be sure that 
the unit is acceptable to park management.   
 
Choosing a New Home:  Other Important Issues 
 
If you are considering the purchase of a recreational vehicle or “park model trailer” 
(which may look like a manufactured home) as a temporary or permanent option, be 
sure that your park allows these units in the park, or local ordinances permit it on private 
property, before purchasing one.    
 
Placing a manufactured home on private property has a number of additional local 
government considerations; check with your planning department for any rules. 
 
Buying a home, either for cash or with financing, is a major decision.  Be careful, use 
due diligence to investigate all critical issues, and educate yourself.  Consider that a 
purchase is a partnership between you, the seller, the installer, and your park.  If you 
have further questions or need assistance, please contact HCD’s Occupational 
Licensing Program at (916) 323-9803 or call the Mobilehome Ombudsman at  
(800) 952-5275, or see the link at http://www.hcd.ca.gov/codes/ol/ombpg-menu.html.   
 


