Accelerating Housing Production

SB 2 Planning Grants Technical Assistance

Background

Technical assistance on accelerating housing production is made available through the Senate Bill 2 Planning Grants Program. In 2017, the Legislature passed SB 2, which established a permanent source of funding intended to increase the affordable housing stock in California. The first year of SB 2 was spilt between planning grants and homelessness programs. Five percent of SB 2 directs HCD, in coordination with the Governor’s Office of Planning and Research (OPR), to develop a technical assistance program to assist localities in planning efforts that accelerate housing production and streamline the approvals of housing.

The ”Housing Planning Hub” page provides more details on the technical assistance program, and resources including tools and services to help local governments accelerate and streamline housing production.

Learn more about the SB 2 Planning Grants program.

Purpose

The goals of the technical assistance program provided through HCD, OPR, and PlaceWorks consulting team are to:

Priority Policy Areas

In consultation with stakeholders, developers, planners, local governments, and academics, HCD has developed six policy areas that are evidenced-based practices to streamlining housing approvals, accelerating housing production, and becoming more housing friendly. HCD technical assistance teams will make toolkits and resources available to help local governments implement these strategies.

Technical Assistance Program

HCD in coordination with OPR is working with a team of consultants led by PlaceWorks, Inc, to provide technical assistance on both a regional and statewide level with an emphasis on the priority policy areas.

The program components include:

  1. Applicant assistance is specific to helping local governments obtain a planning grant through the SB 2 Planning Grants program. Assistance includes:
    • Identifying eligible activities and brainstorming ideas on how to best utilize the Planning Grants program
    • Answering questions
    • Reviewing draft applications and providing feedback before they are officially submitted to HCD
    • Housing element compliance for jurisdictions that do not have a compliant housing element
    • Jurisdictions who need additional assistance in submitting their 2017 or 2018 Annual progress reports
    • Sample applications
    • Scopes of work and RFPs

    Please contact your TA team to receive technical assistance.

  1. Ongoing regionally tailored technical assistance includes a menu of services and tools that are available to all local governments and can be customized to serve the unique needs of the different regions throughout the state. Tools and resources include:
    • Toolkits on the priority policy areas
    • Samples, best practices, and model ordinances
    • Webinars and workshops
    • Peer-to-peer learning collaboratives







Planning Grants and Local Housing Strategies Map

The Planning Grants and Local Housing Strategies Map will keep you up to date on :

  • Cities’ and counties’ local planning practices and solutions for accelerating housing production
  • Where HCD’s technical assistance (TA) teams are conducting outreach and providing TA
  • Which cities/counties have submitted planning grant applications
  • Which jurisdictions are eligible for planning grants

The goals of the map:

  • Promoting transparency in planning grant funding and distribution
  • Illustrates HCD’s commitment to geographic equity and access.
  • Creates a peer-learning environment by sharing jurisdictions’ implementation efforts on accelerating housing production throughout the state.

 

 

Technical Assistance Teams

Your TA regional liaison, HCD, and OPR can answer any questions and help you with eligibility, draft grant applications, implementing the priority policy areas and more!

Contact your SB 2 TA Team Today!

California Department of Housing and Community Development
sb2planninggrant@hcd.ca.gov

Governor’s Office of Planning and Research
Helen Campbell: helen.campbell@opr.ca.gov
Natalie Kuffel: natalie.kuffel@opr.ca.gov

TA Regional Liaisons


North State
Mark Teague: mteague@placeworks.com


Greater Sacramento Region
Jennifer Gastelum: jgastelum@placeworks.com
Heidi Gen Kuong: heidi.genkuong@ascentenvironmental.com

San Francisco Bay Area
Joanna Jansen: jjansen@placeworks.com
Charlie Knox: cknox@placeworks.com

Monterey Bay Region
Charlie Knox: cknox@placeworks.com
Amy Sinsheimer: asinsheimer@placeworks.com

Sierra Nevada Region
Adam Lewandowski: adam.lewandowski@ascentenvironmental.com
Charlie Knox: cknox@placeworks.com

San Joaquin Valley
Sara Allinder: sallinder@ppeng.com

Central Coast Region
Amy Sinsheimer: asinsheimer@placeworks.com

Los Angeles County Region
Jonathan Nettler: jnettler@placeworks.com
Colin Drukker: cdrukker@placeworks.com

Orange County
Colin Drukker: cdrukker@placeworks.com

Inland Empire / Imperial County
Mark Hoffman: mhoffman@placeworks.com
Colin Drukker: cdrukker@placeworks.com

San Diego
Brooke Peterson: bpeterson@placeworks.com

Tools and Resources

Check back for new tools and resources, such as toolkits, model ordinances, best practices, and more.

Other Planning and Land-Use Funding