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Section 8311. Limits on Development Costs

(a)  Project development costs must be reasonable compared to development costs for other similar developments of modest design in the general area of the Project.

(b) Builder overhead, profit and general requirements shall be limited in accordance with California Code of Regulations, Title 4, Section 10327.

(c) Property acquisition prices shall not exceed appraised value, except where the increment above appraised value is fully covered by junior public agency financing that carries no mandatory debt service.

(d) Proposed Project sites shall not require site development work that is significantly more costly than that typical for other similar projects in the local market area, unless either:

(1) the proposed site acquisition cost together with the site development costs are less than the cost of a typical site together with typical site development costs in the Project’s market area; or

(2) there are no other sites available in the market area with a lower combined cost.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 50406(n); 50517.5(a)(1), (3); 50675.1(c); 50675.11; 50896.1(a) and 50896.3(b), Health and Safety Code.  Reference:  Sections 50517.5(a)(1), (c)(2), (e)(2); 50675(a); 50675.4((b)(2), (c)(1); 50675.5, and 50896.(1)(a), Health and Safety Code

Section 8312. Developer Fee 

(a) Developer Fee shall not exceed the amount calculated in accordance with subsections (1), (2) or (3) below, with the exception of LIHTC Projects which shall also be subject to subsection (b).  The per unit amounts will be adjusted in thousand dollar increments in accordance with changes in the CPI when, following the year 2000, the CPI has indicated the next full thousand dollar increment has been reached. 

(1) For new construction Projects and Projects where the contract for the rehabilitation work equals or exceeds $25,000 per unit:

(A) For the first 30 Units, $20,000 per Unit.

(B) For each Unit in excess of 30, $7,500 per Unit.

(2) For other Projects involving acquisition and rehabilitation where the contract amount for the rehabilitation work, excluding contractor profit and overhead, equals or exceeds $7,500 per Unit and is less that $25,000 per unit:

(A) For the first 30 Units, $9,000 per Unit.

(B) For each Unit in excess of 30, $4,500 per Unit.

(3) For all other Projects, $2,000 per Unit. 

(b) For LIHTC Projects, Developer Fee payments shall not exceed the lesser of $1,200,000 or the maximum amount that may be included in eligible basis pursuant to California Code of Regulations, Title 4, Section 10327.  If the Developer Fee limit established pursuant to this subsection exceeds that established in subsection (a) above, the difference shall be deferred and payable from operating cash flow pursuant to Section 8314(a)(1)(A).

(c) Deferred Developer Fee is payable out of cash flow pursuant to Section 8314.  For LIHTC Projects, the amount of the deferred Developer Fee is also subject to the limits on deferred developer fee in the TCAC regulations and any applicable federal statutes or regulations.

(d) The dollar value of any capital contribution of funds or real property made by the Sponsor or an affiliate, as approved by the Department, for Project development costs shall increase the Developer Fee limit by the dollar value of the capital contribution.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 50406(n); 50517.5(a)(1), (3); 50675.1(c); 50675.11; 50896.1(a) and 50896.3(b), Health and Safety Code.  Reference:  Sections 50517.5(a)(1), (c)(2), (e)(2); 50675.5(b)(5); 50675.8(a)(5); and 50896.1(a), Health and Safety Code.
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