Manufactured Home Recovery Fund

Q. What should | do if | haven’t yet obtained a
judgment against the buyer or seller of my
manufactured home?

A If the seller/buyer is not the subject of bankruptcy

" proceedings, you will need to obtain a court
judgment against them. If you are an individual
or sole proprietor and your out-of-pocket
expenses are $10,000 or less, or you limit your
potential collection and claim to $10,000, you may
file a Small Claims Court action. If the
buyer/seller is a licensed manufactured home
licensee (salesperson, dealer, distributor, or
manufacturer) you may sue even if they are no
longer in business. Small Claims Court is an
easy process and the parties may NOT use an
attorney in court. Many counties have clinics to
help parties use Small Claims Court or you can
visit the following website for help:
https://www.courts.ca.gov/selfhelp.htm/. If
you engage an attorney and show them this
MHRF fact sheet that informs them there
may be a monetary source to recover from,
it may be a deciding factor as to whether it is
economically feasible for the attorney to pursue
your claim in Civil Court. An attorney can
advise you if you have a viable claim, as you
must sue someone within the statute of
limitations for the particular cause of action,
such as fraud, conversion, warranties, etc.

Applicable California laws can be found at:

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes.xhtml
then click the “Health and Safety Code” link; then click
the “Division 13" link; and finally click the “CHAPTER

7.5. Manufactured Home Recovery Fund’ link under
Part 2 to view the MHRF laws.

You can also ask your local District Attorney to pursue
a Criminal Court case against the wrongdoer. If the
District Attorney obtains a final criminal court judgment
which needs to include restitution to you based on the
wrongful acts listed in the MHRF laws, then you are
eligible to file a claim if the District Attorney is unable to
obtain the restitution on your behalf.

You may also request that HCD pursue an
Administrative Court case against any licensed
manufactured home salesperson, dealer, distributor,
or manufacturer. If HCD agrees with your request and
obtains a final administrative judgment with restitution
for you based on the wrongful acts listed in the MHRF
law, you will be eligible to file a claim if HCD and you
are unable to obtain the restitution.

Note: The information contained on this document
does not contain all the provisions or details of the
laws affecting the MHRF. The claimant should
review the MHRF laws at the website listed above
or at a local law library or consult an attorney.

MISSION STATEMENT

To develop, administer, adopt, and enforce uniform
statewide housing standards to ensure the health and
safety of Californians, to protect buyers from fraud and

abuse, and safeguard the affordability of housing.

State of California

Business, Consumer Services and Housing Agency

Department of Housing and Community Development
Division of Codes and Standards
Occupational Licensing Program

9342 Tech Center Drive, Suite 500
Sacramento, CA 95826

P.O. Box 278690 Sacramento, California 95827-8690
Phone (800) 952-8356; FAX (916) 854-2564
TTY Phone 1 (800) 735-2929

Website: http://www.hcd.ca.gov

vour Bog)
PowEr

©2001 State of Cavornia

HCD OL MHRF 20A (Rev. 8/20)

Manufactured Home
Recovery Fund

California Department of Housing
and Community Development


http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/selfhelp/
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes.xhtml
http://www.hcd.ca.gov/

Manufactured Home Recovery Fund

The Manufactured Home Recovery Fund (MHRF) is a
fund established to help reimburse people who have lost
money during or after the purchase or sale of their
manufactured home as a result of:

1. Fraud or misrepresentation

2. Failure of dealer or manufacturer to honor the
warranty

3. Willful violations of state laws or regulations

4.  Willful misrepresentation of the kind or quality of
the product purchased or sold

5. Actual losses of money held in escrow

The fund is intended to reimburse actual or direct losses
up to $75,000.00, including attorney’s fees, after the victim
has diligently pursued collection efforts against income or
assets of the nonpayer or judgment debtor.

The MHRF is a last chance remedy opportunity for a
victim, not the first opportunity.

Specific conditions apply, and a claim should be made on
forms provided by the Department of Housing and
Community Development (HCD). If you think you have
been a victim, you should review the MHRF information
and claim form available on our website before contacting
an attorney or submitting a claim to the Department for
actual financial losses up to $75,000.00 maximum
recovery.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. Who can file a claim under MHRF?

A. The buyer or seller of a manufactured home to be
used as a personal or family residence, or for
investment purposes, bought or sold on or after
January 1, 1985, and

1. Who has sued the alleged wrongdoer and obtained
a final civil judgment; or

2. Who has a unpaid criminal restitution order from a
final criminal judgment; or

3. Who has an unpaid administrative law restitution
order from a final administrative decision; or

4. Whose claim is against an alleged wrongdoer,
person or entity, which is or has been subject to
bankruptcy proceedings or otherwise is “judgment
proof” (a person who lacks the financial resources
necessary to satisfy a judgment for damages or

whose wages or property is protected from judicial
attachment by law).

Note: The claimant must provide evidence acceptable to
HCD to prove a person or entity is judgment proof.

Q. Are there additional requirements for payment of
a MHRF claim?

A. Yes, additional requirements apply for the following
situations:

1. A claim based on a civil judgment (which may be
against any person or business who is a buyer or
seller of a manufactured home, not just an HCD
licensee) may be filed if the following additional
requirements are met:

a. The claim must be filed within two years from the
date of the final judgment;

b. The judgment must be based on at least one of
the following wrongful acts:

1) Failure to honor warranties or guarantees;

2) Fraud or willful misrepresentation related to
any financial provision;

3) Fraud or willful misrepresentation of the kind
or quality of the product sold or purchased;

4) Conversion (theft);

5) Any willful violation of the Manufactured
Housing Act of 1980 (Health and Safety Code
Section 18000, et seq.) and any regulations
adopted thereunder;

6) Any violation of Chapter 3, beginning with
Section 1797, of the Civil Code (new
manufactured home warranties).

c. The claimant must have executed on the final
judgment or present evidence that claimant has
diligently pursued collection efforts against all
assets of the judgment debtor and found the
defendant to be judgment proof.

Note: If you are unable to locate the judgment debtor you
may send a certified letter to their last known
address and ask the U.S. Postal Service to provide
verification of the addressee’s last known address.

2. A claim based on a sale or a purchase from a
person or entity who has filed for bankruptcy
may be filed if the following additional
requirements are met:

a. The claim must be filed with HCD within two years

from whichever of the following occurs later:

1) The termination of bankruptcy proceedings;

2) The date of sale (i.e., close of escrow for
dealer sales; or payment of the sales price, or
execution of a sales contract and delivery). If
clarification is needed see Health and Safety
Code Section 18070.2;

3) The date of discovery of the violation(s)
causing direct and actual loss, but no longer
than five years from the date of sale.

b. The claim must be based on the same wrongful

acts as listed in 1.b.

Q. How much money can | recover from the MHRF?

A. The maximum MHRF payment allowed for a
manufactured home sales transaction is $75,000 or
the amount of “actual and direct loss”, whichever is
less. “Actual and direct loss” means out-of-pocket
losses as a result of the transaction and may include
court costs and interest at the statutory interest rate
(see California Code of Civil Procedure Section
685.010) from the date of loss; and, if the claim is
based on a judgment, reasonable attorney fees and
court costs. If the claim is not based on an
administrative, civil, or criminal judgment, attorney’s
fees shall not exceed 15% of the amount of the claim
and court costs. If the claim is based on a final
administrative or civil judgment, attorney’s fees and
court costs shall not exceed 25% of the judgment
amount. Government attorneys may claim up 35%
of the amount of the judgment for civil, criminal with
restitution order, or administrative order with
restitution order obtained. Attorney fees are
included in the maximum MHRF payment allowed,
not excluded.

o

Where can | get a MHRF claim form?

>

MHREF claim forms and instructions are available on
HCD'’s website:
https://www.hcd.ca.gov/manufactured-mobile-
home/mobile-home-ombudsman/
manufactured-housing-recovery-fund.shtml

Contact us at:
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E-mail: ol@hcd.ca.gov
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