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Register Your Mobilehome California Surpasses $2.5 Million 
in Savings for Homeowners  

 State program saves homeowners an average of $3,000 through fee and tax waivers    
 

SACRAMENTO – Nearly 3,000 California mobilehome owners have protected their homes through a 
state program that waives back taxes, fees, and penalties for those who were never provided proper 
title and registration. As of May 2020, Californians have saved a total of $2.56 million in fees and 
taxes while gaining peace of mind that comes from having proper title and registration to their homes.  

Register Your Mobilehome California, administered by the California Department of Housing and 
Community Development (HCD) gives owners whose mobilehomes were never been properly titled 
and registered a path forward to correct the issue, ensuring more families have the opportunity to 
obtain proof of ownership for homes they rightfully purchased. Through the program, the average 
homeowner saves nearly $3,000.   

“Many Californian mobilehome owners who used this program say they weren’t aware they needed 
title and registration, because the previous owner didn’t inform them, or they inherited their home 
from relatives who also didn’t know,” said HCD Director Gustavo Velasquez.    

“This program makes the property legal, protecting homeowners from being evicted from mobilehome 
parks for failure to have title and registration,” he added. “It also opens the door for homeowners to 
properly sell or transfer their mobilehomes, collect fire or flood insurance claims, and obtain permits 
for repairs and upgrades.”  

HCD continues to take applications from the public. Mobilehome owners can follow application 
instructions on HCD’s website at registeryourmobilehomeca.org or call (800) 952-8356 to receive 
technical assistance. A Spanish-language version of the website and the Google Translate 
application can be accessed by clicking on the upper right corner of the webpage.  

The program, in its third year is set to expire on December 31, 2020.  

The California Department of Housing and Community Development is dedicated to the preservation and expansion of safe and 
affordable housing, so more Californians have a place to call home. Our team works to ensure an adequate supply of housing for 
Californians and promotes the growth of strong communities through its leadership, policy and program development. For more 

information, please visit www.hcd.ca.gov and follow us on Twitter, @California_HCD; Facebook, @CaliforniaHCD; and LinkedIn. 

http://www.hcd.ca.gov/
mailto:Karen.Naungayan@hcd.ca.gov
http://www.registeryourmobilehomeca.org/

	STATE OF CALIFORNIA -BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES, AND HOUSING AGENCY GAVIN NEWSOM, Governor
	OFFICE OF THE DIRECTOR

