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IMPORTANT: Please return this letter with the items requested below to the address 
listed on side 2. 

The following are instructions on how to transfer ownership of a manufactured home or 
mobilehome sold by someone other than a licensed California dealer when all the 
following apply:  

1) The home is titled with HCD.  

2) The home is subject to yearly registration renewal, also known as in-lieu taxation 
(ILT), and bears an HCD decal number that begins with the letter “A.”  

In order to transfer ownership of a home meeting the above criteria, the following 
documents and fees must be submitted to the address listed on side 2 of this letter:  

1) The original HCD Certificate of Title signed off by all owners printed on the title. The 
new owners should complete the “New Owner Information” area and sign where 
appropriate. If the original title has been lost, an Application for Duplicate Certificate 
of Title (form HCD RT 480.4) can be completed and submitted with a $25 duplicate 
fee.  

2) The original last-issued registered owner’s Registration Card or, if lost, an 
Application for Duplicate Registration Card (form HCD RT 481.2) completed and 
submitted with a $25 duplicate fee.   

3) Certificate of Retail Value and Purchase Price (form HCD RT 476.4) completed and 
signed by the buyers. Compute use tax and pay that amount in addition to any other 
fees required. Use tax is due unless evidence of an exemption can be presented. 
Exemption evidence can be presented using form BOE 111 from the California 
Board of Equalization or the Reason For Use Tax and/or Mobilehome Recovery 
Fund Fee Exemption portion of the Multi-Purpose Transfer Form  
(form HCD RT 476.6G) completed and signed by buyers.  

4) Multi-Purpose Transfer Form (form HCD RT 476.6G) completed in appropriate 
sections and signed by all new buyers.  

http://www.hcd.ca.gov/
http://www.hcd.ca.gov/manufactured-mobile-home/docs/HCDRT480.4.pdf
http://www.hcd.ca.gov/manufactured-mobile-home/docs/HCDRT480.4.pdf
http://www.hcd.ca.gov/manufactured-mobile-home/docs/HCDRT481.2.pdf
http://www.hcd.ca.gov/manufactured-mobile-home/docs/HCDRT476.4.pdf
http://www.hcd.ca.gov/manufactured-mobile-home/docs/HCDRT476.6G.pdf
http://www.hcd.ca.gov/manufactured-mobile-home/docs/HCDRT476.6G.pdf
http://www.hcd.ca.gov/manufactured-mobile-home/docs/HCDRT476.6G.pdf
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5) Transfer Fee ..................................... $35 
Transfer Fee Penalty ........................ $25 
 .......................................................... (due if postmarked 20 days after date of sale) 
Mobilehome Recovery Fund Fee ...... $10 (due for each sale after January 1, 2008) 
Lien Registration Fee ........................ $25 
 .......................................................... (due if adding, changing, or deleting a lender) 
Duplicate Title Fee ............................ $25 (due if duplicate submitted) 
Duplicate Registration Card Fee ....... $25 (due if duplicate submitted) 
Use Tax Fee ..................................... * 
Use Tax Fee Penalty ........................ *(due if postmarked 20 days after date of sale) 
Renewal Fees ................................... ** 

*Use tax is based on either the purchase price or the Kelley Blue Book or N.A.D.A. 
Appraisal Guide Book, whichever is lesser. If you need a book value quote, you may fax 
page 2 of the completed Certification of Retail Value and Purchase Price (form HCD RT 
476.4) to (916) 854-2551. 

**Renewal fees are due if current registration will expire within 60 days. If the 
registration is delinquent, renewal fees and penalties are due. If you do not know the 
amount due, you may visit Mobilehome Registration Renewal, HCD’s website, or call 
(800) 952-8356 to determine the amount due. If you own the land on which the home is 
located, the Park Purchase Fund Fee is not due. To establish an exemption from 
payment of this fee, complete the “Park Purchase Fee Exemption” portion on the Multi-
Purpose Transfer Form (form HCD RT 476.6G). 

Make CHECK or MONEY ORDER payable to HCD and show the DECAL NUMBER. 

Please mail to:  HCD 
P.O. Box 277820 
Sacramento, CA  95827-7820 

Basic transfer requirements and fees must be postmarked and/or received by HCD 
within 20 calendar days from the date of sale to avoid transfer penalties. 

If, after a review of your application, additional fees and/or documents are required, your 
application will be returned to you with further instructions for completing your 
transaction. 

If you have any questions regarding the above requirements or forms, please contact 
HCD at (800) 952-8356 or ContactRT@hcd.ca.gov for assistance. 

Visit HCD’s website for a list of DISTRICT OFFICES or call (800) 952-8356. 

http://www.hcd.ca.gov/manufactured-mobile-home/docs/HCDRT476.4.pdf
http://www.hcd.ca.gov/manufactured-mobile-home/docs/HCDRT476.4.pdf
https://casas2prodwlext2.hcd.ca.gov/casas/registration/renewOnline
http://www.hcd.ca.gov/
http://www.hcd.ca.gov/manufactured-mobile-home/docs/HCDRT476.6G.pdf
http://www.hcd.ca.gov/manufactured-mobile-home/docs/HCDRT476.6G.pdf
mailto:ContactRT@hcd.ca.gov
http://www.hcd.ca.gov/manufactured-mobile-home/registration-titling/index.shtml
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