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Private Party Sale for a Commercial Modular on Yearly
Registration Renewal with HCD Certificate of Title

HCD RT 804.12 (Rev. 03/20)

IMPORTANT: Please return this letter with the items requested below to the address
listed on side 2.

The following are instructions on how to transfer ownership of a commercial modular
sold by someone other than a licensed California dealer when all the following apply:

1) The commercial modular is titled with HCD.

2) The commercial modular is subject to yearly registration renewal, also known as in-
lieu taxation (ILT), and bears an HCD decal number that begins with the letter “C.”

In order to transfer ownership of a commercial modular meeting the above criteria, the
following documents and fees must be submitted to the address listed on side 2 of this
letter:

1) The original HCD Certificate of Title signed off by all owners printed on the title. The
new owners should complete the “New Owner Information” area and sign where
appropriate. If the original title has been lost, an Application for Duplicate Certificate

of Title (form HCD RT 480.4) can be completed and submitted with a $25 duplicate
fee.

2) The original last-issued registered owner’s Registration Card or, if lost, an
Application for Duplicate Registration Card (form HCD RT 481.2) completed and
submitted with a $25 duplicate fee.

3) Statement of Purchase Price for Commercial Modular (form HCD 479.7) completed
and signed by the buyers. Compute use tax and pay that amount in addition to any
other fees required. Use tax is due unless evidence of an exemption can be
presented. Exemption evidence can be presented using form BOE 111 from the
California Board of Equalization or the Statement of Facts — Use Tax Exemption
(form HCD 476.7) completed and signed by the buyers.



http://www.hcd.ca.gov/
http://www.hcd.ca.gov/manufactured-mobile-home/docs/HCDRT480.4.pdf
http://www.hcd.ca.gov/manufactured-mobile-home/docs/HCDRT480.4.pdf
http://www.hcd.ca.gov/manufactured-mobile-home/docs/HCDRT481.2.pdf
http://www.hcd.ca.gov/manufactured-mobile-home/docs/HCD479.7.pdf
http://www.hcd.ca.gov/manufactured-mobile-home/docs/HCD476.7.pdf
http://www.hcd.ca.gov/manufactured-mobile-home/docs/HCD476.7.pdf

4) Transfer Fee .......ccccoovvviiniieeecciiee, $35

Transfer Fee Penalty ........................ $25

.......................................................... (due if postmarked 20 days after date of sale)
Lien Registration Fee....................... $25

.......................................................... (due if adding, changing, or deleting a lender)
Duplicate Title Fee........ccoovvvveen..n. $25 (due if duplicate submitted)

Duplicate Registration Card Fee....... $25 (due if duplicate submitted)

Use Tax Fee ....ccooovvviiiiiiiiiiiiiii *

Use Tax Fee Penalty ..............cco.. *(due if postmarked 20 days after date of sale)
Renewal Fees........ccccoovvviiiiiiiiiinn. >

*Use tax is based on the purchase price and the sales tax rate of the city the
commercial modular is located in.

**Renewal fees are due if current registration will expire within 60 days. If the
registration is delinquent, renewal fees and penalties are due. If you do not know the
amount due, you may visit Mobilehome Registration Renewal, HCD’s website, or call
(800) 952-8356 to determine the amount due.

Make CHECK or MONEY ORDER payable to HCD and show the DECAL NUMBER.

Please mail to: HCD
P.O. Box 277820
Sacramento, CA 95827-7820

Basic transfer requirements and fees must be postmarked and/or received by HCD
within 20 calendar days from the date of sale to avoid transfer penalties.

If, after a review of your application, additional fees and/or documents are required, your
application will be returned to you with further instructions for completing your
transaction.

If you have any questions regarding the above requirements or forms, please contact
HCD at (800) 952-8356 or ContactRT@hcd.ca.gov for assistance.

Visit HCD’s website for a list of DISTRICT OFFICES or call (800) 952-8356.
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https://casas2prodwlext2.hcd.ca.gov/casas/registration/renewOnline
http://www.hcd.ca.gov/
mailto:ContactRT@hcd.ca.gov
http://www.hcd.ca.gov/manufactured-mobile-home/registration-titling/index.shtml
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