## Department of Housing and Community Development Division of Codes and Standards Registration and Titling Program



## Private Party Sale for a Commercial Modular on Yearly Registration Renewal with HCD Certificate of Title

IMPORTANT: Return this letter with the items requested below to the address listed on page 2.

The following are instructions on how to transfer ownership of a commercial modular sold by someone other than a licensed California dealer when all the following apply:

- 1. The commercial modular is titled with HCD.
- 2. The commercial modular is subject to yearly registration renewal, also known as in-lieu taxation (ILT), and bears an HCD decal number that begins with the letter "C."

In order to transfer ownership of a commercial modular meeting the above criteria, the following documents and fees must be submitted to the address listed on page 2:

- 1. The original HCD Certificate of Title signed off by all owners printed on the title. The new owners should complete the "New Owner Information" area and sign where appropriate. If the original title has been lost, an <u>Application for Duplicate Certificate of Title</u> (HCD RT 480.4) can be completed and submitted with a \$25 application fee.
- 2. The original last-issued registered owner's Registration Card or, if lost, an <u>Application for Duplicate Registration Card</u> (form HCD RT 481.2) completed and submitted with a \$25 application fee.
- 3. <u>Statement of Purchase Price for Commercial Modular</u> (form HCD 479.7) completed and signed by the buyers. Compute use tax and pay that amount in addition to any other fees required. Use tax is due unless evidence of an exemption can be presented. Exemption evidence can be presented using form BOE 111 from the California Board of Equalization or the <u>Statement of Facts Use Tax Exemption</u> (form HCD 476.7) completed and signed by the buyers.

4.	Transfer Fee	\$35
	•	\$25 (due if postmarked 20 days after date of sale)
	Lien Registration Fee	\$25 (due if adding, changing, or deleting a lender)
	Duplicate Title Fee	\$25 (due if duplicate submitted)
	Duplicate Registration Card Fee	\$25 (due if duplicate submitted)
	Use Tax Fee	
	Use Tax Fee Penalty	* (due if postmarked 20 days after date of sale)
	Renewal Fees	<u>,</u> †`

<sup>\*</sup> Use tax is based on the purchase price and the sales tax rate of the city the commercial modular is located in.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>†</sup> Renewal fees are due if current registration will expire within 60 days. If the registration is delinquent, renewal fees and penalties are due. If you do not know the amount due, you may visit <u>C&S Online Services Registration Renewal</u>, <u>HCD's website</u>, or call (800) 952-8356 to determine the amount due.

## Make CHECK or MONEY ORDER payable to HCD and show the DECAL NUMBER.

Please mail to: HCD—Registration and Titling

P.O. Box 277820

Sacramento, CA 95827-7820

Basic transfer requirements and fees must be postmarked and/or received by HCD within 20 calendar days from the date of sale to avoid transfer penalties.

If, after a review of your application, additional fees and/or documents are required, your application will be returned to you with further instructions for completing your transaction.

If you have any questions regarding the above requirements or forms, please contact HCD at (800) 952-8356 or <a href="mailto:contactRT@hcd.ca.gov">contactRT@hcd.ca.gov</a> for assistance.

Visit HCD's website for a list of **DISTRICT OFFICES** or call (800) 952-8356.