Department of Housing and Community Development Division of Codes and Standards Registration and Titling Program



Private Party Sale for a Home on Yearly Registration Renewal with DMV Ownership Certificate (Pink Slip)

IMPORTANT: Return this letter with the items requested below to the address listed on page 2.

The following are instructions on how to transfer ownership of a manufactured home or mobilehome sold by someone other than a licensed California dealer when all the following apply:

- 1. The home is titled with DMV (pink slip).
- 2. The home is subject to yearly registration renewal, also known as the vehicle license fee (VLF), and bears a DMV license plate or decal.

In order to transfer ownership of a home meeting the above criteria, the following documents and fees must be submitted to the address listed on page 2:

- 1. The original DMV Ownership Certificate (pink slip) signed off by all owners printed on the pink slip. The new owners should complete the "New Owner Information" area and sign where appropriate. If the original pink slip has been lost, an Application for Duplicate Certificate of Title (form HCD RT 480.4) can be completed and submitted with a \$25 application fee.
 - NOTE: If the unit is registered under more than one pink slip, only one duplicate is required.
- The original last-issued registered owner's Registration Card or, if lost, an <u>Application for Duplicate Registration Card</u> (form HCD RT 481.2) completed and submitted with a \$25 application fee.
- 3. <u>Application for Registration</u> (form HCD RT 480.5) completed in full and signed by each new owner. Include the length, width, and insignia number(s) of the home.
- 4. <u>Certificate of Retail Value and Purchase Price</u> (form HCD RT 476.4) completed and signed by the buyers. Compute use tax and pay that amount in addition to any other fees required. Use tax is due unless evidence of an exemption can be presented. Exemption evidence can be presented using form BOE 111 from the California Board of Equalization or the Reason For Use Tax and/or Mobilehome Recovery Fund Fee Exemption portion of the <u>Multi-Purpose Transfer Form</u> (form HCD RT 476.6G) completed and signed by buyers.

5. <u>Multi-Purpose Transfer Form</u> (form HCD RT 476.6G) completed in appropriate sections and signed by all new buyers.

6.	Transfer Fee	. \$35
	Transfer Fee Penalty	\$25 (due if postmarked 20 days after date of
	·	sale)
	Mobilehome Recovery Fund Fee	\$10 (due for each sale after January 1, 2008)
	Lien Registration Fee	\$25 (due if adding, changing, or deleting a
		lender)
	Duplicate Title Fee	\$25 (due if duplicate submitted)
	Duplicate Registration Card Fee	\$25 (due if duplicate submitted)
	Use Tax Fee	*
	Use Tax Fee Penalty	.*(due if postmarked 20 days after date of sale)
	Renewal Fees	<u>,</u> †

Make CHECK or MONEY ORDER payable to HCD and show the DECAL NUMBER.

Please mail to: HCD—Registration and Titling

P.O. Box 277820

Sacramento, CA 95827-7820

Basic transfer requirements and fees must be postmarked and/or received by HCD within 20 calendar days from the date of sale to avoid transfer penalties.

If, after a review of your application, additional fees and/or documents are required, your application will be returned to you with further instructions for completing your transaction.

If you have any questions regarding the above requirements or forms, please contact HCD at (800) 952-8356 or ContactRT@hcd.ca.gov for assistance.

Visit HCD's website for a list of **DISTRICT OFFICES** or call (800) 952-8356.

^{*} Use tax is based on either the purchase price or the Kelley Blue Book or NADA Appraisal Guide Book, whichever is lesser. If you need a book value quote, you may fax page 2 of the completed Certification of Retail Value and Purchase Price (form HCD RT 476.4) to (916) 854-2551.

[†] Renewal fees are due if current registration will expire within 60 days. If the registration is delinquent, renewal fees and penalties are due. If you do not know the amount due, you may visit <u>C&S Online Services Registration Renewal</u>, <u>HCD's website</u>, or call (800) 952-8356 to determine the amount due. If you own the land on which the home is located, the Park Purchase Fund Fee is not due. To establish an exemption from payment of this fee, complete the "Park Purchase Fee Exemption" portion on the Multi-Purpose Transfer Form (form HCD RT 476.6G).