Who Is Eligible?

Eligible participants must:

  • Be a U.S. citizen or a qualified alien.
  • Have legally owned and occupied a single-family dwelling or mobile home in an affected county as their primary residence during the disasters.
  • Have sustained damages directly linked to one of the eligible disasters.
  • Be in need of outstanding repairs.
  • Be current on property taxes or have an approved payment plan or tax exemption.
  • Allow access to the property for all necessary Program staff.
  • Have legal authority to enter into grant agreement.

Owner-occupied single-family or mobile homes with outstanding repairs from 2017 and 2018 disasters are eligible.

Eligible households are prioritized based on income, location, and severity of damage. Funds are prioritized for low- to moderate-income households. Income classification is based on federal definitions.

2017 Eligible Disasters Include:

  • October 2017 wildfires: Atlas, Canyon II, Cascade, Cherokee, LaPorte, Lobo, McCourtney, Nuns, Patrick, Pocket, Redwood Valley, Sulphur, and Tubbs Fires.
  • December 2017 wildfires, mudflows, and debris flows: Creek, Liberty, Lilac, Little Mountain, Skirball, Rye, and Thomas Fires.

2018 Eligible Disasters Include:

  • July through September 2018 wildfires and high winds: Carr and Mendocino Complex Fires.
  • November 2018 wildfires: Camp, Hill, and Woolsey Fires.

2020 Eligible Disasters Include:

  • August through September 2020 Wildfires: SCU Lightning Complex, the August Complex, and the LNU Lightning Complex Fires.
  • September through November 2020 Wildfires: Fresno, Los Angles, Madera, Mendocino, Napa, San Bernadino, San Diego, Shasta, Siskiyou, and Sonoma Fires.